0
research-article

Benchmark of Nanoparticle Tracking Analysis on Measuring Nanoparticle Sizing and Concentration

[+] Author and Article Information
Ciarán M. Maguire

Nanomedicine and Molecular Imaging Group, AMBER Centre and CRANN Institute, Trinity College Dublin, Department of Clinical Medicine, Trinity Translational Medicine Institute, Trinity Centre for Health Sciences, St. James's Hospital, James Street, Dublin8, Ireland
cmmaguir@tcd.ie

Katherine Sillence

Malvern Instruments Ltd, Minton Park, London Road, Amesbury, Wiltshire, SP4 7RT, UK
ksillence@hotmail.co.uk

Matthias Roesslein

EMPA, Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Research & Testing, Laboratory for Particles - Biology Interactions, Lerchenfeldstrasse 5, CH-9014 St Gallen, Switzerland
matthias.roesslein@empa.ch

Claire Hannell

Malvern Instruments Ltd, Minton Park, London Road, Amesbury, Wiltshire, SP4 7RT, UK
clairehannell@gmail.com

Guillaume Suarez

Institute for Work and Health (IST), Switzerland, Rte de la Corniche 2, 1066 Epalinges, Lausanne1011, Switzerland
guillaume.suarez@chuv.ch

Jean-Jacques Sauvain

Institute for Work and Health (IST), Switzerland, Rte de la Corniche 2, 1066 Epalinges, Lausanne1011, Switzerland
jean-jacques.sauvain@hospvd.ch

Sonja Capracotta

Malvern Instruments Ltd, 1415 Washington Heights, Rm 6611, Ann Arbor, MI 48109, United States
sonja.capracotta@malvern.com

Servane Contal

Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), Environmental Research and Innovation (ERIN) Department, 41, rue du Brill, L-4422 Belvaux, Grand-duchy of Luxembourg
servane.contal@list.lu

Sebastien Cambier

Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), Environmental Research and Innovation (ERIN) Department, 41, rue du Brill, L-4422 Belvaux, Grand-duchy of Luxembourg
sebastien.cambier@list.lu

Naouale El Yamani

Health Effect Laboratory, MILK, Norwegian Institute for Air Research, Instituttveien 18 P.O. Box 100, Kjeller, NO-2027, Norway
elyamani.naouale@nilu.no

Maria Dusinska

Health Effect Laboratory, MILK, Norwegian Institute for Air Research, Instituttveien 18 P.O. Box 100, Kjeller, NO-2027, Norway
maria.dusinska@nilu.no

Agnieszka Dybowska

Department of Earth Sciences , Natural History Museum, Cromwell Road, London, SW7 5BD, UK
a.dybowska@nhm.ac.uk

Antje Vennemann

IBE R&D Institute for Lung Health gGmbH, Mendelstrasse 11, 48149 Münster, Germany
vennemann@ibe-ms.de

Laura Cooke

Centre for Bio-Nano Interactions (CBNI), University College Dublin, Conway Institute, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland
laura000cooke@gmail.com

Andrea Haase

German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR), Department of chemicals and product safety, Max-Dohrn-Strasse 8-10, 10589 Berlin, Germany
andrea.haase@bfr.bund.de

Andreas Luch

German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR), Department of chemicals and product safety, Max-Dohrn-Strasse 8-10, 10589 Berlin, Germany
andreas.luch@bfr.bund.de

Martin Wiemann

IBE R&D Institute for Lung Health gGmbH, Mendelstrasse 11, 48149 Münster, Germany
martin.wiemann@ibe-ms.de

Arno Gutleb

Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), Environmental Research and Innovation (ERIN) Department, 41, rue du Brill, L-4422 Belvaux, Grand-duchy of Luxembourg
arno.gutleb@list.lu

Rafi Korenstein

Dept of Physiology & Pharmacology, Sackler School of Medicine, Tel Aviv, Tel 69978, Israel
korens@post.tau.ac.il

Michael Riediker

Institute of Occupational Medicine Singapore Pte. Ltd., 30 Raffles Place, #17-08 Chevron House, Singapore, 048622, Singapore
michael.riediker@iom-world.sg

Peter Wick

Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Research & Testing, Laboratory for Particles - Biology Interactions, Lerchenfeldstrasse 5, CH-9014 St Gallen, Switzerland
peter.wick@empa.ch

Patrick Hole

Malvern Instruments Ltd, Minton Park, London Road, Amesbury, Wiltshire, SP4 7RT, UK
patrick.hole@malvern.com

Adriele Prina-Mello

Nanomedicine and Molecular Imaging Group, AMBER Centre and CRANN Institute, Trinity College Dublin; Department of Clinical Medicine, Trinity Translational Medicine Institute, Trinity Centre for Health Sciences, St. James's Hospital, James Street, Dublin8, Ireland
prinamea@tcd.ie

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4037124 History: Received January 24, 2017; Revised June 12, 2017

Abstract

One of the greatest challenges in the manufacturing and development of nanotechnologies is the requirement for robust, reliable and accurate characterization data. Presented here are the results of an interlaboratory comparison brought about through multiple rounds of engagement with NanoSight Malvern and 10 pan-European research facilities. Following refinement of the Nanoparticle Tracking Analysis technique, the size and concentration characterization of nanoparticles in liquid suspension was proven to be robust and reproducible for multiple sample types in mono-modal, binary or multi-modal mixtures. The limits of measurement were shown to exceed the 30 nm to 600 nm range (with all system models), with percentage coefficients of variation being calculated as sub 5 % for monodisperse samples. Particle size distributions were also improved through the incorporation of the Finite Track Length Adjustment algorithm, which most noticeably acts to improve the resolution of multimodal sample mixtures. The addition of a software correction to account for variations between instruments also dramatically increased the accuracy and reproducibility of concentration measurements. When combined, the advances brought about during the ILCs allow for the simultaneous determination of accurate and precise nanoparticle sizing and concentration data in one measurement.

Copyright (c) 2017 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Discussions

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In